DIY Sushi Day

Standard

So today was the day!  I ventured out to the Chinese Market with a friend yesterday and got all the goods to make my California Roll!  While the kiddo’s were sleeping, I steamed my rice, prepped my rolling mat and cleaned my counter to prepare for this yummy lunch.  The first one was a bit goofy looking.  But the second one went up without any hitches.  I love to have a full belly.

Here's what mine looked like!

Here is a link/video on how to make your own.  I found it very helpful.  And ABSOLUTLY wrap your mat in plastic.  Don’t skip that step or you’ll end up with sticky rice everywhere!  Good luck!

Ingredients

  • Avocado
  • 5 cups of sushi rice
  • 4 sheets of nori (toasted seaweed)
  • 7 teaspoons toasted seasame seeds
  • 1/2 Japanese cucumber (I used a regular cucumber and sliced thin)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of mayonnaise
  • 5 ounces of imitation crabmeat (I prefer the “sticks” and not the chunks)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of sliced scallions

Directions

  1. Prepare your rice according to directions.
  2. Mix your mayo and scallions, set aside.
  3. Cut your Avocado, Cucumber and set aside.
  4. Prepare your mat, cover with plastic so the sticky rice doesn’t stick!
  5. Make sure everything is close at hand before starting your roll.
  6. Lay your seaweed shiny side down.
  7. Wet your hands to deal with stick rice.  Cover your seaweed fully.
  8. Carefully turn seaweed over.
  9. Spread your mayo mixture thinly over whole surface of seaweed.
  10. Add your Crabstick, Avocado and Cucumber.
  11. Roll over seaweed, tight.
  12. Use a SHARP knife to cut your roll (I used a serrated knife)
  13. Transfer to plate and enjoy!

I made a happy plate!  Yummy!!!

 

Leave a Reply

