“Spring” Cleaning

Standard

Yeah, I know…it’s a little early but dang it Pinterest!!!!!  :)  I saw this way-too-cool post and JUST had to try it out.  I mean, my stove really needs a total face-lift so this will just have to do for now.  I think this summer I’ll get the hubby to spray paint it or something.  I’m thinking apple red would look pretty.  Anyway, on with the post!

So here’s my nasty, NASTY drip pans.  Pretty gross right!  Gag.

With the new year, come’s new year’s resolutions and with new year’s resolutions comes a cash budget.  I’ve mentioned it before on this blog.  So asking the hubby for money to get new drip pans was way out of the question.  I saw a post on Pinterest about an easy way to clean your drip pans without having to scrub ANYTHING!  Now I will tell you first hand, it really works (sort of) but don’t have the expectations you won’t have to lift a finger to make them look perfect.  So here’s what you do.  Get you some household Ammonia and some large gallon size ziplocks!  Now, I put in about a 1/2 Cup Ammonia into the ziplock bag and zipped it up.  Like this:


I put each burner into a separate baggy.  Cause I really thought I would do whatever it took to make sure I didn’t have to scrub afterwards.  Then I left it outside in the garage floor (cause the bag will start to leak Ammonia everywhere) for 32 hours.  Wiggling with anticipation for all of 32 hours, I went and got the baggies, carefully unzipped them (don’t do it inside unless you don’t mind the fumes), sprayed them down with hose and brought them inside.  Now they weren’t perfectly clean…almost but not perfect.  I had to use an SOS pad to scrub off the really stuck on crud.  I spent a total of 10 minutes on all four burners, scrubbing.  I KNOW, right!  I mean, most of the stuff just started flaking off.  I did have to put SOME elbow grease into it but not a lot!  Here’s my pretty new drip pan:


PRETTY AMAZING RIGHT!?!?!

Leave a Reply

