30 Min DIY Tube-Top Bra

Standard

Okay so I bought this cute (not so cute on me) dress that’s old-school.  You know…the one that has the stretchy material up-top and then just falls to the floor…no straps.  I thought it was cute on the hanger, got it home to try on (since the kids in a shopping cart won’t fit in the changing rooms) and my chest just sagged.  Now, I’ve fed two kids (so far) with these bad boys and they still look okay but they don’t look anything like they did pre-kiddos.  So I need a bra.  I don’t have money to just go whip out at the store for a new strapless bra so I thought I’d try to make one.  You remember em’.  Yeah, the tube-tops!  They used to be so popular in the early 80’s for me.  So I got online and found a brilliant tutorial.  I’m gonna show you my version.  She did great…but here’s mine. 🙂

So, materials.  I had all of this so I didn’t have to buy ANYTHING! Hence, why this was so brilliant.

– stretchy material (I got mine at Walmart for 1.50 a yard)
– thread
– sewing machine

Yep!  That’s it.  Okay so first.  Measure your bust.  Then, take about (give or take a few) 10 inches off that.  Lay it out on the table and trim the edges to make it all straight.

Sew right down the side.  Make sure that you pull it while you so or the thread will break when you actually put your tube top on!

PAY CLOSE ATTENTION or you will have to cut off this step and start over.

Now, make sure you turn it right side out for this next step.  It needs to look like this!

Now, this is confusing so stick with me here.  The only way I can tell you is that from this step, you have to actually turn your work right side in…half way and make these edges (where my finger is pointing in above image) meet.  Even the video wasn’t clear on this step  It’s at the bottom of you need more visuals.  Then sew here:
Your piece should look just like this when sewing this end.  And you don’t need to stretch this part because it’s not going to stretch.

Now, when you sew this end, make sure you leave a little opening for you to turn everything right side out again.  This is mine, turned right side out.

Now, just sew or hand-stitch your opening up like this:

Then you’ll have this piece to ewwww and ahhhh over.  You can (if you want a little separation for the twins) get some material and make a little tie for the middle.  I”m not posting my finished product on me cause that would just be something to laugh at and pass around the net.  Hubby wouldn’t care for that at all!  So here it is, draped on my arm.  Doesn’t do it justice.  But you get the idea!  Right.  Right!??! 🙂

So if you still don’t get it, here’s the video.  Have fun!

Oh and make sure you check back soon.  Like tomorrow cause I’m making these for our late (yeah really) summer vacation.  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

