Rag Quilt Tutorial

Standard

Okay, so I have to confess…I didn’t JUST do this quilt.  I did it back in February but as promised.  I’ll try not to take any breaks from my blog for a while in the effort to help you craft something fun!  My friend from across the way has a little girl.  I’ve mentioned her before.  She’s the one I made the Secret Santa Key for and the Bling Sling for.  She’s a little pistol, let me tell you.  We are always on a budget (which is a GOOD thing or I’d go nuts with our non-existent cash) so I found some material to make her a quilt.  She loves to play Eye-Spy on walks her mom and I take.  So what better thing to make her than and “Eye-Spy” quilt.  Right?!?!?  Seriously.  These quilts are SO easy, you don’t need a tutorial.  If you know how to sew straight lines, you’re set!

What you’ll need:
1. 4-5 Yards of fabric (depending on how long you want it)
2.  4-5 Yards of back fabric (could coordinate with the front pieces)
3. Batting (again this depends on your size quilt)
4. Sewing Machine
THAT’S IT!

Okay so for the fun part.  Cut all your material in strips.  I cut mine about 12 inches wide.  It’s easier if you cut each patterned material at the same time.  So all my pink fabric was cut all at once.  Then line your fabric with your batting and your backing.  Do that for all your pieces.  Then take two strips (all assembled of course) with the backing of each assembled strip faced together.  Sew all the way down the edge.  Repeat that step for however many strips you have.  Then do you standard edging (I made my own bias tape…sort of) for the edges.  Then, YOU’RE DONE!  Yeah, I said it…DONE.  Easy as pie!  Now go, make one for this cool weather or as a gift.

 

Leave a Reply

