DIY Wooden Plaque with Custom Phrase Tutorial

Standard

Hey ya’ll!  The ladies are getting together to craft for a cause for our craft night.  This time we are working with a group called Embrace, which provides first apartment kits to teens who “age-out” or foster care without a family.  These teens leave care with little more than the clothes on their backs.  For more information on this local group click here.  As promised, to the ladies of the church…I created a tutorial for the craft we are doing.  So let’s begin!

Here’s what we’ll be making:
04-DSC_0017 (2)
*please note, for craft night…you’ll need to paint your board, pick your font and phrase and print out your phrase before going to craft night.  Jenny will not have a computer at the ready for you to plan this part out.  So be prepared.

Supplies:
piece of wood
(you can use any size, for this tutorial I used a 1X6)
acrylic paints
paint brushes
computer
bible – pick your favorite verse to help guide a teen in their adventures

So, I chose to do this craft for my kids.  I’m actually doing something further with this board but for the purpose of showing the ladies how to transfer text onto a piece of wood to paint, this will work just fine.  I am using a 1X6 piece of wood that I got at Home Depot.  You can actually use a pretty piece of wood that had finished edges if you want.  You can get any pretty plaques at Michael’s for around $5.  Maybe less if you have coupon.  Paint your piece of wood.  I actually tried to do something with a pattern on my wood for the background.  You can get as creative as you want with this.  Paint it, scrape it, rough it up a bit.  Whatever you want.  Here’s mine:
12-DSC_0002 (3)
Next you’ll want to know what phrase or bible verse you’re using for your board.  After you’ve figured that out, measure your board.  I used illustrator to plan out my text.  Make sure you use a font that is forgiving and not very complex!  When you print out your text it will obviously not fit on one 8.5X11 sheet.  So you’ll have to print it out in bits.  It will look like this:
11-DSC_0003 (3)
Now, cut out your pieces and lay it out onto your board like so:
10-DSC_0006 (3)
Trace your font with a pen, make sure you press hard and don’t use a real sharp pen.  Like this:
08-DSC_0008 (2)
When you’ve done a few letters, carefully peel back the paper and see if you can see an indention like this:
07-DSC_0010 (3)
If you can see an indention on your wood, then keep going…otherwise go back and do it again, pressing harder a second time.  It should all look like the above picture before you take off the blue print on your wood.

After that, you’re ready to paint your wood.  I got all my acrylic paints from Walmart for $.60 or less!  Since I’m doing this project for my kids…I’m using multiple colors.  You use whatever fits your design.06-DSC_0011 (3)
Now pick a small paint brush to paint your wood.  I used a very tiny bush like this:
05-DSC_0012 (3)
Here’s some of the finished text:
03-DSC_0020 (3)

Now the only thing left is to put on the hangers.  Here’s what I used:
02-DSC_0022 (3)
Hammer these to the back of the board like this:
01-DSC_0023 (3)
I love the way it turned out and I’m excited to show the kids their new way of displaying their artwork.  I’ll have a finished tutorial on what I’m making soon so check back!

Leave a Reply

