Halloween Decor – DIY

Standard

header-bannerI tried to hold out for hubby to get the decorations down from the attic but just couldn’t wait any longer!  I’ve been waiting three weeks to put up my decorations and started thinking…I really don’t want to use the kiddie decorations I’ve been using the last 10 years.  While there are some cute things in there, I really wanted to update my stash.  So here are a few DIY decorations you can do and they will take you about 30 minutes each!

Burlap Halloween Bannerhalloween bannerI’m a sucker for burlap,  so it was easy to decide what my theme was going to be.  So with that.  Let’s start with the burlap Halloween banner.  It’s about 60 inches wide and will work with almost any size mantle.  Each flag is 5.75 inches wide (9 flags total).  I cut out all the flags and then printed this for the letters.  Here comes the easy part.  Just place the letter behind the flag and trace with a sharpie!  Done.

Spooky Wooden Blocks
spooky blocks
So rather than re-post a whole new how-to on this little cutie…I will just shoot you the link.  I added in some of my own extra letters though to spell our our family name and some other cute words.  That’s where your creative brain kicks in.  You can find the toot here.  Have fun with it!

Spooky Bats
wall batsThis was, I think the coolest decoration and one of my most favorites!  I found a PDF on Pinterest and picked out the best looking bat.  I then made this file spooky bat template and printed it out on white card-stock.  I then cut them out, traced them on black card-stock, cut them out, used a ruler to fold the wings in the middle and taped them up on the wall.  I put them on the fireplace too for a cool effect.
fireplace batsSpooky Toilet Monster
toilet monsterOkay y’all.  This one was my first decoration and the kids LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!  So easy.  I measured the area I wanted to use, used black card-stock, used a ruler to get the angle right, made some fingers like so, cut out two white eyes and then added some black for the middle of the eyes.  I taped on the monster and let my kids find the creature on their own.  Wish I had recorded their reaction.  It was cute.

Creepy Spider Burlap Banner
spider runner
Last but not least.  The creepy spider burlap banner.  I found a cool picture on pinterest (yeah, I know) of a spider.  I recreated it in Illustrator and made three sizes.  I saved a PDF just for you spooky spiders.  My table top is 48 inches long so I just designed it to be on the table top, not the ends.  So I printed out the template and placed it under the burlap.  I used a black sharpie to trace the shadows of the spiders.  I then added “paint” splotches around the banner.  I got the cool web from Dollar Tree to put in the middle.  Cool huh!

That’s all I have for now.  Be looking out for cool toot on how to make a cool wooden “Happy Halloween” sign to put as a cool center piece, up on the mantle or in your entry way.  Have a happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

